The Secret of Inner Tranquility

tranquilitySome time ago, I made a discovery, or a realization rather, that improved my personal serenity no end. It has made my life so much more peaceful and has removed many of the little frustrations that used to afflict me. So I thought I’d share it with you.

Are you ready?

This is it: People are stupid.

That may seem cruel. Or arrogant even. But it’s not. I’m stupid too. I’m stupid, you’re stupid, the whole world is stupid. People are stupid.

“How does this help?” I hear you ask. Well, you have to really believe it. Deep in your soul. People are stupid. Like rain is wet. Nobody with any sense curses the rain for being wet, or the wind for being cold. It’s just the way things are — there’s no point complaining about it.

So when some driver swerves out in front of me without looking; or people stop to chat in the supermarket and form an accidental barricade with their trolleys; or politicians play silly games with people’s lives; I don’t get upset. I don’t expect anything different. Accept it and feel the peace.

Leave a Reply

