Hits

Passignano sul Trasimeno

One of the features of WordPress is that you get to see the search terms from Google etc. which have caused people to “find” your blog.

I notice today, for example, that someone typed “how to train your dragon clean undies t shirt” and somehow got a “hit”. That’s some sort of random fluke, I think, and those do occur, but more generally there is a relationship between search terms and content. Seek and ye shall find.

One of the blogs that gets hit virtually every day is this one, presumably because people are looking for scarce information on two less common Epiphone guitar models which I mention. (The Explorer Bass and the Korina SG-400. There. Now this blog will come up as well.) The other frequent hit is this blog, where I draw parallels between medieval festivals and the Rio carnival. What people are actually looking for there though, is photos of the near-naked participants. Not doing too well if they come to my blogs for that.

But I couldn’t explain one commonly-occurring search term: Passignano sul Trasimeno. I’ve been to a lot of places in central Italy, and mentioned them in blogs, either in passing or as the actual subject. I’d have thought that there would be many more people looking for information on Rome, or Florence, for example. Passignano is a small town on the North shore of Lake Trasimeno in Umbria. Nice enough, but why the constant Internet searches?

So I looked up the Wikipedia entry on Passignano sul Trasimeno and I think I may have the answer. You see, it’s not very good; very scant in information content. Even the equivalent Italian-language page is little better. It’s my guess that the online information on the town is generally inadequate, particularly in English, making my mere mention one of the top hits.

As a good Internet citizen, it is of course my bounden duty to update the Wikipedia page and fill it full of my wisdom and knowledge. If I had any. The truth is that my entire experience of Passignano sul Trasimeno was just one afternoon earlier this year.

So here it is. Passignano sul Trasimeno is a town on the North shore of Lake Trasimeno in Umbria. It is a ferry port, with services to Isola Maggiore and two other lakeside towns, Castiglione del Lago and Tuoro. You can get there from Perugia on the A1 Autostrada or by train. Compared to other Umbrian towns, there is relatively little in the way of ancient architecture, however, the lake shore is a pleasant place to spend time, and there are many good restaurants. A characteristic feature is the group of “kiosks”, selling ice cream and the like. These are a remnant of the days when Passignano was a stylish holiday destination for the region of Umbria (which has no sea coast). Passignano is twinned with Eltville am Rhein.